Loading map viewer...

L'Amerique divisée en ses principaux États

This general map of the Americas, produced in Paris in 1788, depicts the political divisions in North America just after the Treaty of Paris was signed in 1783. The Treaty effectively ended the American Revolutionary War. The United States is comprised of land east of the Mississippi River, while Great Britain controls Canada and Spain controls Louisiana, Mexico, Florida and western North America. Also depicted is a large inset of the Canadian Arctic, and another two insets of Caribbean islands, in addition to an elaborately illustrated cartouche.

Tagged with

  • George Washington's Mount Vernon
  • 1788
  • French
  • Borders
  • Indigenous Peoples
  • Roads and Routes
  • Animal
  • Cartouche
  • Hand Coloring
  • Printed
  • Rigobert Bonne


Large Image Small Image